F1 news
+Galerie Foto
+Calendar Competitional
+MotoGp News 2009
+Photo Moto Gp
+MotoGp News
+Photo Album Rally
+Photo Gallery Wrc
+Calendar Competitonal
+Rally Drivers
+Rally Co-Drivers
+Rally Monte-Carlo
+Rally Sweden
+Rally Mexico
+Rally Catalunya
+Rally Corsica
+Rally Argentina
+Rally Sardinia
+Rally Acropolis
+Rally Deutschland
+Rally Nestle Finland
+Rally Japan
+Rally Cyprus
+Rally Turkey
+Rally Australia
+Rally Team
+WRC Rally
+Albums F1 Photo Gallery +Formula 1 Photo Gallery +F1 Sexy Pit Babes Pics
+Calendar Competitonal
+Michael Schumacher F1
+Michael Schumacher
+Goodbye Michael Schumacher
+Formula 1 Pilots
+F1 Team
+F1 Sakhir Circuit
+F1 Sepang Circuit
+F1 Melbourne Circuit
+F1 Imola Circuit
+F1 Nurburgring Circuit
+F1 Barcelona Circuit
+F1 Monaco Circuit
+F1 Silverstone Circuit
+F1 Montreal Circuit
+F1 Indianapolis Circuit
+F1 Magny-cours Circuit
+F1 Hockenheim Circuit
+F1 Hungaroring Circuit
+F1 Istanbul Circuit
+F1 Monza Circuit
+F1 Spa-Francorchamps
+F1 Shanghai Circuit
+F1 Suzuka Circuit
+F1 Interlagos Circuit
+F1 News Arhive
+Formula 1 | F1 2006
+F1 News List
+Katie Price Photo Gallery +Jodie Marsh Pictures
+Photo Gallery
+Calendar Competitonal
+Galerie Foto
+Calendar Competitonal
+Calendar Competitonal
+Galerie Foto
+Photo Gallery
+Calendar Competitonal +Red Bull Romaniacs 2006 +Rally Raid Sitemap
+Galerie Foto
+Calendar Competitonal
+Arhiva Stiri
Volkswagen second with Giniel de Villiers
Rally Raid Dakar : Volkswagen Motorsport - Finish
Volkswagen has set a new ‘personal best' at the hard fought 2006 Dakar Rally by finishing second with Giniel de Villiers (South Africa) and Tina Thörner (Sweden): For the first time in the twenty-eight year history of the
desert classic a diesel powered car finished second – the new Race Touareg 2 with a 275 hp TDI engine.

At the same time the factory's motorsport team improved one position when compared to the previous year's result, when the first generation Race Touareg scored a podium place for a diesel powered car. With five stage victories, a trio of second fastest times and eight third places and five days leading the field – including filling the top three positions for two days – Volkswagen also stocked up its own account of individual successes compared to last year. Mark Miller/Dirk von Zitzewitz (USA/D) in fifth place, Bruno Saby/Michel Périn (F/F) in eighth and Carlos Sainz/Andreas Schulz (E/D) in eleventh position completed the results for the team from Wolfsburg. Jutta Kleinschmidt/Fabrizia Pons (D/I) retired following an accident.

« Obviously we are delighted about Volkswagen's second place finish and also for Giniel de Villiers and Tina Thörner in this year's Dakar Rally, which was extremely tough, fast and Exciting. » explains Volkswagen Motorsport Director Kris Nissen. « At the same time we are disappointed that we didn't win. A win was our target. The opportunity and potential were there, but unfortunately they went begging. Congratulations to Mitsubishi, Luc Alphand and Gilles Picard on their victory. »

Kris Nissen, responsible for the Volkswagen brand motorsport activities since summer 2003, further : « Our result was nevertheless an improvement compared to last year. We scored five stage victories. We finished second, fifth, eighth and eleventh overall. It is the highest ever finishing position for a diesel vehicle at the Dakar Rally and the best result for a German car manufacturer since Porsche won in 1986. We made enormous progress in every aspect – engineering, team and logistics. I think we put regular winner Mitsubishi under significant pressure. Our summary is that we were at least as good as the strong competition in almost every area, but we have to improve in one or two areas. We have to do some fine tuning to the Race Touareg 2, especially where deep and soft sand is concerned. We lost decisive time here this year. »

Giniel de Villiers, who was only competing in his fourth Dakar Rally and who even took the lead on the sixth day, was constantly in the top-three overall after the eighth of 15 stages. On the challenging twelfth stage the 33-year old South African moved up to second after the eight-time “Dakar” winner Stéphane Peterhansel made a mistake. The permanently focussed de Villiers and his Swedish co-driver Tina Thörner, who was only signed nine months ago by Volkswagen, also demonstrated their expertise in the toughest of terrain and throughout the marathon stage, and, in doing so, reduced the gap to winner Luc Alphand to 17 minutes in the ‘dash-for-the-line'.

Second best Volkswagen team at the finish are the American Mark Miller and his German co-driver Dirk von Zitzewitz. Miller, who was only competing in his second event for Volkswagen and for the third time at the Dakar Rally, surprised many established opponents with his determined high tempo. Three stage times in the top-three, including setting exactly the same time as Stéphane Peterhansel on the second longest stage on the rally's eighth day, highlighted the talent of the American from the state of Arizona. Rolling twice on the seventh stage prevented the American-German duo from finishing even higher up the leader board.

Bruno Saby and co-driver Michel Périn were significantly better than their finishing position suggested. The two Cross Country Rally World Cup winners from last year were in sixth place only 3 minutes 57 seconds behind the leader after the sixth stage, when they lost almost seven hours due to a lose fitting in the fuel supply line. Within four stages, the two former "Dakar” winners from France had fought their way up the leader board from 22 nd overall to 8 th position at the finish.

Carlos Sainz and Andreas Schulz dominated the rally at the start. “Dakar” debutant Sainz, a record holder with 26 wins in classic sprint rallying, proved his exceptional talent after changing to cross country rallying. Four stage victories and overall leader on four of the opening five days underlined the expertise of the Spanish-German duo. A clutch problem on the eighth stage, the result of breaking free from deep sand on the previous day, left the two-time World Rally Champion in a hopeless position more than eight hours behind the leader in sixteenth position. The duo improved to eleventh place at the finish.

Jutta Kleinschmidt and Fabrizia Pons retired after damaging their car irreparably in an accident on the eleventh stage. Whilst running in fifth position, the female German-Italian duo hit a tree stump so awkwardly, after being thrown of course by a pot hole, that the Race Touareg prototype's front right-hand suspension could not be repaired on the spot. A great series came to an end as a result: Until now Jutta Kleinschmidt and Fabrizia Pons had always reached the finished with Volkswagen.
Press Release Volkswagen Motorsport

     Success for Alphand, Coma and Chagin
     Eleven questions to Ola Floene about his Dakar 2006 dream
     A child was hit by a truck and died
     From the Volkswagen bivouac
     Volkswagen has second locked in its sights
     Alphand will take a 17'53 lead into final stage
     Chicherit wins first ever special
     Alphand maintains his lead
     Questions to Kris Nissen
     End of a dream for Sperrer and Floene

     Last News at infoRally

     Raliul Deltei castigat de Francois Delcour
     Bottas drove a solid race and Maldonado crashed on Monaco GP
     No points for Sauber on Monaco GP
     Best Sahara Force India result ever on Monaco GP
     Red Bull placed two cars on the podium in Monaco
..::Rally Cars For Sale::..
Anunturi Masini de Vanzare
Adauga Anunt
infoRally RSS
Add to My AOL
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to Google
Custom Search
..:: Game Suggestion ::..

Drive the super fast race cars and see if you could have been or perhaps still can become the world's best racer.
Get It!
..::Rally Newsletter::..
.::info Rally Suggestions::.
.::Car Reviews::.
..::info Rally TOP::..